Health Care Foundation Elects New Board Officers and Members to its Board of Directors

KANSAS CITY, MO – The Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas has elected its 2010 Board officers and elected seven new members to its Board of Directors. Norman Siegel, an attorney at Stueve Siegel Hanson, was elected to replace Larry Blankinship as the Chair of the Health Forward Board of Directors. Blankinship served a one-year term as Chair. His term on the board ended in January. Other newly elected officers include:

Sylvia Robinson, Vice-Chair
Bishop Steve Jones, Secretary
Sheilahn Davis-Wyatt, Treasurer
“Since its inception over six years ago, the Health Forward Foundation has been graced by wonderful leadership. The individuals that have preceded me as Chair of the Health Forward Board of Directors have dedicated countless hours in helping to establish a strong framework for this young Foundation,” said Siegel. “With six of our inaugural board members leaving the board this year, today marks a time of transition for the Foundation. I’m honored to be elected to continue in their tradition and look forward to working with the Health Forward board, Community Advisory Committee and Health Forward associates in advancing the work initiated by our founders.”

At today’s meeting, Health Forward also welcomed seven new members to the board. The following individuals were selected to serve a three-year term:

Albert P. Mauro, former President of Kansas City, Missouri School Board and former Vice President and Secretary of Kansas City Southern Industries
Shirley Marie McCarther, Ed.D, Assistant Professor, Urban Leadership and Policy Studies in Education at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Education
Marcia Nielsen, PhD, MPH, Vice Chancellor for Public Policy and Planning, University of Kansas Medical Center
Daniel T. Purdom, M.D., Medical Director, Samuel U. Rodgers Health Center
Kenneth P. Stremming, Retired, Pharmaceutical Industry
Kenny Southwick, Ed.D, Superintendent, Belton, Missouri School District
Susan Wilson, Associate Dean, Cultural Enhancement and Diversity, University of Missouri-Kansas City
“All of the individuals elected to represent Health Forward on its Board of Directors bring with them a wealth of knowledge, expertise and a great passion to help eliminate barriers to quality health for the uninsured and underserved,” said Steve Roling, President/CEO. “We look forward to their guidance and leadership as we work toward our vision of healthy people in healthy communities.”